All-WAC season-ending awards.
Terrell Brown is the WAC Hoops Digest 2019-20 Player of the Year. Brown leads the WAC in scoring and also averages six rebounds and five assists per game for the Seattle U Redhawks. Courtesy Seattle U Athletics.

Brown, Jans Highlight WAC Hoops Mid-Season Awards

Running along with the theme of being at the halfway point of conference play, it’s time to bring out the mid-season awards. These awards will have the WAC Hoops Player and Coach of the Year to this point. The awards will have first-team All-WAC selections to this point. And these awards will be based off of what the players/coaches have done in WAC play. WAC hoops has been extremely fun to watch thus far. And it is only going to get more intense down the stretch.

So, let’s get to it.

Player of the Year – Terrell Brown, Seattle U

Yes, New Mexico State fans won’t be happy. But, it’s tough to argue with a player who is first in points per game, second in steals, 12th in rebounds and second in assists in WAC play. Brown is having a really solid season for the Redhawks. The redshirt junior is averaging 18.1 points, 6.2 rebounds and 4.9 assists per game. Brown also has 16 steals in WAC play, good for second in the league. If the Redhawks shot it better, Brown might be averaging a double-double per game. If Brown is to win this award at the end of the season, Seattle has to have a big second half.

Honorable mention

Ivan Aurrecoechea, New Mexico State
Brandon Boyd, California Baptist
Milan Acquaah, California Baptist
Jabari Rice, New Mexico State
Jordan Jackson, UTRGV
Carlos Johnson, GCU
Alessandro Lever, GCU

Coach of the Year – Chris Jans, New Mexico State

This is a no-brainer. The Aggies are 8-0 in WAC play and considering all the injuries New Mexico State has dealt with, it might be the best coaching job Jans has done since coming to Las Cruces. Jans lost Clayton Henry, A.J. Harris and currently Trevelin Queen. Yet, the Aggies continue to win. Sure, some wins are uglier than others, but New Mexico State wins. The Aggies chemistry is extremely high and they just want to win. Add in the fact that Jans knows how to handle egos and has built a culture of playing together, and you can see why New Mexico State is on its way to a WAC championship again.

Honorable Mention

Rick Croy – California Baptist
Billy Donlon – Kansas City

Defensive Player of the Year – Emmanuel Olojapoke, Utah Valley

The Akron graduate transfer is a rim protector. Olojapoke leads the WAC with 65 blocks overall.

Emmanuel Olojapoke leads the WAC in blocked shots and is a big-time rim protector for Utah Valley. Courtesy of Wade Event Photography. 

23 of those blocks have come during WAC play. The next closest is Zach Pirog of California Baptist who has 34 blocks on the season. First-year head coach Mark Madsen says that Olojapoke’s timing is amazing and that he times his attempts just right. Plus, the athleticism that Olojapoke has provides a challenge for opponents. Perhaps the more amazing stat for the big rim protector is that Olojapoke has only fouled out of one game in WAC play. 

Honorable Mention

Trevelin Queen, New Mexico State
Jovan Blacksher Jr., Grand Canyon
Javon Levi, UTRGV

First-Team All-WAC

Ivan Aurrecoechea, New Mexico State – Averaging 15.3 points, 6.4 rebounds and shooting 61% from the field in WAC play

Jabari Rice, New Mexico State – Averaging 12.8 points and 5.1 rebounds while shooting 45% from 3-point land in WAC play

Carlos Johnson, GCU – Averaging 16.8 points and 5.1 rebounds while shooting 47% from the field in WAC play

Jordan Jackson, UTRGV – Averaging 16.3 points while shooting 50% from the field and may have the Dunk of the Year in the WAC

Alessandro Lever, GCU – Averaging 15.9 points, 7.0 rebounds and shooting 51% from the field in WAC play


Yes, there will be discussions, debates, angry fans and perhaps angry coaches when they read this. It’s okay. That is healthy for WAC Hoops. It makes things interesting in the second half of conference play. If New Mexico State wins out and Ivan Aurrecoechea or Jabari Rice continue to play the way they have, one of those two will be the WAC Player of the Year. Can Seattle make a run at the two-seed and give Terrell Brown an even bigger chance of winning Player of the Year honors? 

There are so many things that can happen between now and March when the awards are handed out. Sit back and enjoy some entertaining basketball and follow along at WAC Hoops Digest. 

About the author

Kyle McDonald

Love everything about WAC Hoops so decided I wanted to write more about it and cover this amazing conference that just keeps getting better. Follow us on Twitter @wachoopsdigest for information, game analysis and much more.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to WAC Hoops Digest

Enter your email address to subscribe to WAC Hoops Digest so you never miss a beat.

Click Here to Get Your NBA Gear

Enjoy Las Vegas

Buy and Sell Your Tickets with StubHub

Get Your MLB Gear at the MLB Shop

Book with

Book a Stay with

%d bloggers like this: